Wearing Stupid is NOT a Comfortable Fit

Hello World!

Yep, I feel as if I have dressed in my stupid garb this morning, and the fit is not comfortable.  What on earth am I talking about?  I’m talking about being way behind the learning curve when it comes to technology.

Back in the day (2002 and prior), I was really up on technology.  Heck, I had one job interview in the mid 1990s where I was told that my resume was the first this particular businessman had ever seen with an email address on it.  While not a card-carrying member of Mensa, I don’t think of myself as being totally unintelligent. I was valedictorian of my high school class, even though I completed high school in 3 rather than 4 years; for each degree I earned (3), I graduated with honors.  In fact, usually I graduated summa cum laude. Why, oh why, then have I spent an hour or more this morning trying to figure out how to properly insert a Pinterest button onto my blog site?  It is there, but it does not work properly. *deep sigh*

What comes to mind is the old saying “Use it or lose it.”  Quite frankly, once I returned to the teaching, if the technology was not directly related to what I was doing in the classroom, I did not pay it much mind (read To Teach or Not to Teach? to learn why – hint “time”) I was way late in creating a Facebook page, only giving in when I decided that if I did not do so, I would never know anything about what our children and grandchildren were doing.  I fought the fight of having a Smart Phone until two weeks ago.  Now, as I am ready to embrace technology and what it can do for me in my present chapter of life, I am feeling like the last horse out of the gate on race day.

Being over 50 and behind in the technology curve is certainly not a comfortable fit, but the only thing I know to do is struggle through technology boot camp so that I can put on more comfortable garments.

I am extremely open to any wisdom or guidance others have to share with me on this point.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

2 Comments

Filed under Random

2 responses to “Wearing Stupid is NOT a Comfortable Fit

  1. I like your blog. My blog is also about life near 50, and the empty nest. I wrote a blog on technology after 50. Check it out. keep up the great blogging!
    http://kimswhatsup.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/i-am-not-my-mothers-flip-phone/

    • Thank you! Also thank you for stopping by my blog. I’ll certainly pop over to your blog when I have a few quiet minutes to enjoy it. Thank you for sharing with me. Angela

Leave a Reply

