Climbing and Conquering the Pyramid

Hello World!

Along with millions of other people in America, the HH and I are diabetics. According to the American Diabetes Association (July 15, 2013), about 25.8 million people in the U. S. have Type II diabetes and another 79 million are pre-diabetic. You can read more about this hereAdd those two numbers together, and that is almost 1/3 of the current U. S. population!  In “Battle Plan,” I outlined steps to be taken to meet goals set for myself for a 12-month period, and successfully managing and controlling my diabetes is a huge part of that plan.

In my quest to learn more about the way in which we should be eating, I did a quick web search, and I came upon something that is new to me.  No, don’t get me wrong; I’ve known about the food pyramid since I was a very young elementary school student.  This new twist on an old visual aid that I located is the Diabetic Pyramid. Let’s look at it.

One of the first things I noticed about this pyramid is that there are fewer sections; notice there are no divisions midway across each line.  Next, I observed that the foundation of the pyramid is not about food at all; it is about an active lifestyle that is shared with others. Looking at the food aspects, the area that includes fruits, vegetables, nuts, and whole grains is huge compared to the usual food pyramids.  As far as protein goes, fish and seafood are encouraged in much greater abundance than poultry.  Red meat is something to be consumed on a limited basis along with sweets. Dairy products are in the same category for frequency as poultry, though yogurt is encouraged on a daily basis, if desired. Frequent water and wine in moderation are also listed.

I have so many thoughts about this food pyramid as relates to issues of our day, but I’ll save these thoughts for another time.  For now, let’s just stay with the idea of eating according to this ideal.  How does this recommendation compare with how you and your family actually eat?  What small changes can you make in your food consumption?  How can you and your family or friends lead a more active lifestyle?

The HH and I are attempting to engage in more physical activity as individuals and as a couple.  Hopefully, weather permitting, I’ll get to the pool for 30 minutes of water aerobics while the HH gets on the treadmill at the fitness facility. Later today, we hope to go bowling.  We take our dog on at least two small walks daily. Little by little we are moving again.  Of course, if I want to reach one of my goals, the walk/run 5k by July 1 next year, I better get moving a little faster. As mentioned previously, we are attempting to eat better foods in proper portions and at the proper times.

How are we doing so far?  My fasting blood sugar is down about 30 points, and the HH’s is down about 70 points (his was higher than mine).  I’ve lost 4 pounds since July 1; I don’t know if he has lost any or not since his last visit to the doctor as he only weighs at the doctor’s office.  My doctor said he would be happy if I averaged 1/2 pound of weight lost per week, so he is happy with me.  In fact, I got a letter from him yesterday giving me the results of my most recent lab work.  Everything for which he tested was within normal range, and at the end of the letter, he complimented my weight loss. I feel like a kid who just got a gold star on my school work. 🙂

Are you working toward earning a gold star from your doctor, too?

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

1 Comment

Filed under Health

One response to “Climbing and Conquering the Pyramid

  1. Congratulations, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

