Preserving Produce

Hello World!

This afternoon, I need to prepare the produce purchased last weekend and not yet used for the freezer.  We still have corn, tomatoes, peppers, squash, carrots, an eggplant, and cucumbers that need to be put away for future use before they spoil.  The question is, what is the best way to do this, especially since it is small quantities of each.

For the corn, I will cut it off the cob and prepare it to freeze for making fried corn, corn chowder, or corn fritters later on. I may use the tomatoes, one bell pepper, and one hot pepper to make a pasta sauce for later.  The zucchini can be grated and frozen for making zucchini bread.  The rest of the bell peppers can be sliced and/or diced for use in stir-fry or casseroles. I think I’ll use the carrots to make a carrot cake to freeze.  I’m not sure what I’ll do with the rest of the green hot peppers, the jalapeno peppers, the banana peppers, the eggplant, and the cucumbers, but I’m sure a search of the Internet will help me figure this out.

How do you get the most out of produce left in your frig?

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

