Beauty Without The Beast

Hello World!

As a 50+ woman, I’m not lucky enough to have hair sans gray.  In fact, I’ve been coloring my hair for so long that I am not sure what percentage of my “true colors” is gray, but I fear it is at least 50%.  Though consideration is being given to going au naturale hair-wise,  I’m not there yet. In the meantime, my fast-growing hair really needs to have the color refreshed every six to eight weeks (six is better).  Due to expense, I’ve colored my own hair using boxes of color purchased at whatever store had the best deal with varying results.  My coloring was not always even and too much color was left on walls and bathroom rugs.

How can I have the beauty treatments I want without spending a beastly amount of money?  My answer, when I went looking for it, was easily found: Beauty Schools!

The Salon Professional Academy, Nashville, TN

The Salon Professional Academy, Nashville, TN

Today, I went back to The Salon Professional Academy in Nashville. I was able to call and make and appointment to fit my schedule.  While students perform all of the work, instructors walk around continuously watching, and the teachers check the students’ plans for work before they begin and after completed.  I’ve actually been more pleased with the quality of work at the school than I have been with professional stylists in private salons. The main downside to using student salons is the time factor; plan on taking 1 and 1/2 to 2 times longer than you may normally take for the same services.

My new hairdo

My new hairdo

My new color

My new color

What did I pay today for my color, shampoo, cut, and style?  What do you think?  I’m guessing on the low end these services may cost about $75 and perhaps upwards to $200 for high-end salons.  What did I pay? My cost for salon services today were $9.00 for the cut and $19.00 for the color (w/shampoo) and style.  That is $28.00 TOTAL! For me, that is Beauty without the Beast of a price.  This  price is really not that much more than one might pay for the really good (or at least really high-priced) boxed hair color. For me, box colors are out and beauty salon schools are in.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

2 Comments

Filed under Being Thrifty, Money

2 responses to “Beauty Without The Beast

  1. Pingback: Beauty Without The Beast | livingandlovinglifeafter50

  2. Pingback: More Beauty Without the Beast | livingandlovinglifeafter50

Leave a Reply

