I Finally Did It!

Hello World!

What did I finally do?  I finally submitted my first application for a freelance writing assignment; this was my icebreaker. Starting something new is always a bit scary, at least for me, but isn’t part of living taking risks and getting out of our comfort zones?  After writing my post yesterday, I did some reading that I found inspiring.  I spent a bit of time tweaking my resume, locating a template to use for a cover letter, and then I went to an online job posting site for freelance writing assignments.  I read through them until I found one that seemed to fit my age, stage, and background. This morning, I submitted the application. That got me past my first hurdle.

The next hurdle is dealing with rejection.  Mentally, I know that when one is looking for a job, many attempts are made and rejected before one finds a job that fits.  I am even more certain that when writing for publication in any form, rejection is a part of the process, and it comes more often than not.  You see, the thing is that when it comes to locating jobs, I’ve not had much experience with rejection.  As mentioned in Live, Work, and Wait?, most of the jobs I have had in the past have come to me.  Learning to deal with rejection is going to be a character growth challenge that will come with the writing to make money challenge.

Anyway, the first step is the hardest, and now that step has been taken.  I’ll keep you posted on how it goes, good or bad.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Career

Leave a Reply

