My Impressions of Killer Nashville So Far

Hello World!

I’ve not been home too much the last couple of days since I’ve spent quite a bit of time at the 8th Annual Killer Nashville Writers’ Conference.  How has it gone so far?  That’s what I’m writing to tell you.

Over all, I’m impressed, but not all things are equal.  The event has been well-organized, welcoming, and down-to-earth.  Yesterday morning’s presentation by D.P. Lyle, MD was educational and entertaining.  I’ve met some really nice people ranging from those who have not written anything yet, to people who have their first novel finished and can see light at the end of the tunnel, to individuals who have had multiple books published.

The first workshop session I attended, Craft of Writing Workshop 1 Outlining & Plot: The Events of Your Story, was led by Bob Mayer.  This workshop was truly awesome, and I give it 3 stars out of 3 stars. The second workshop of the day for me was Double Duty: Using Character Perceptions to Build Depth and Bring Settings to Life led by a panel consisting of Jamie Mason (Panel Leader), Parker Francis, Phyllis Gobbell, Eliot Parker, and Ken Vanderpool. While there was some beneficial material presented, personally I did not find it as helpful and insightful as hoped.  I give this session 1 1/2 stars out of 3 stars. The third and final session I attended yesterday was Be Your Own Editor: Make Your Book the Best it Can Be with a panel of editors (Jodie Renner, Christina Wilburn, and Carolyn Mulford) and moderated by Jaden Terrell.  This was another extremely helpful and information session, and I give this one 3 stars out of 3 stars also.

I started with the first session on the schedule today; it was Craft of Writing Workshop 2 Advanced Fiction Writing: Ten Techniques to Make Your Writing Shine presented by Philip Cioffari. Oh. My. Gosh!  I’m sure this gentleman is very capable, but I was bored out of my gourd!  What he may have shared that was beneficial was lost because he kept losing me by boring me.  He started late, did not get through all he was to have covered, and ran over.  I’m tempted to give this session 0 stars out of 3, but since he showed up, I’ll give him 1/2 of a star out of 3 stars.  The second, and last, of the small group sessions for today was Backstory: How Much Do You Need, How Best to Weave it In? The panelists were Annamaria Alfieri (Panel Leader), Jon Jefferson, M.E. May, Marie Moore, and Paul Parsons. In my opinion, this was another interesting and beneficial workshop, and I give it 2 1/2 stars out of 3 stars.

Since Jodie Renner is leading the first session I plan to attend in the morning, I have high expectations and am truly looking forward to it.  I’ll let you know how the rest of the conference goes from my perspective.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Career

Leave a Reply

