Heaveningly Housework – NOT!

Hello World!

I know there are people in this world who truly enjoy cleaning, but I am not one of those people. Growing up on the farm, I’d much rather be on the tractor, on my horse, or in the truck running around with Dad than at home doing laundry, ironing, dusting, etc.

In college, I felt that I had too much to do with classes, work, and, later on, a baby to worry about the house being spotless.  Yes, I had to keep it clean enough we were not in danger of death, but clutter seemed to rule.

When my children were in school, their activities overruled housework.  At one point in my life, I truly believe I could have lived out at the ball field with three playing baseball/softball at the same time. When they were in high school and I was teaching full time while finishing my masters degree, it is no exaggeration to say that I only slept 5 hours a night for a good span of time, and laundry, once done, was spread out on the sofa to find as needed. During those 3 years, I hardly cooked at all. *head down*

After the kids were grown and most were out on their own, I was exhausted from the 7 surgeries in less than three years – all related to my breast cancer diagnosis – while I only missed about four weeks total of work (I tried hard to schedule around school holidays).  Even then, I did the planning and grading from home (something I later realized was a mistake, but that is another story).  I truly was too exhausted to worry with housework beyond the kitchen and laundry.

Messy Dining Area - AKA Where you drop whatever is in your hand

Messy Dining Area – AKA Where you drop whatever is in your hand

Today, I have no excuse except I procrastinate, finding other things more inviting and enjoyable.  The thing is, having a messy house does bother me, so today is “cowgirl up” day and do some cleaning.

To keep me honest, I have swallowed hard and made a picture of the two messiest areas of the apartment: the master bedroom and the dining area.  Later today, I will post pictures of these same two areas to show how much I did or did not get done.  Stay tuned from keeping-it-honest show and tell!

Part of the messy Master; the dog will not sleep on his bed, so the old quilt is down where he likes to sleep - next to me.

Part of the messy Master; the dog won’t sleep on his bed, so the old quilt is down where he likes to sleep – next to me.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

Cleaner Master

A neater version of the master bedroom

UPDATE:  Just after 6:00 p.m. – dishes are done; laundry is finished and put away; some household business matters have been addressed, and see the improved dining area and master bedroom pictures.

A cleaner version of the dining area (the tea has to sit on the storage cabinet - no room elsewhere.

A cleaner version of the dining area (the tea has to sit on the storage cabinet – no room elsewhere.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Stories, Rants, Etc., Random

Leave a Reply

