Pretty Little Peas, Please

Hello World!

Today’s errands included a stop at the Mt. Juliet Farmers’ Market where I scored eight more pounds of field peas: six of crowder peas and two of a variety with which I am not familiar.  I think the farmer called it willow peas, but I must have misunderstood. I’ve spent another night shelling and putting peas in the freezer because I love my husband.

The HH is not a fan of many vegetables, but he does like pretty much all beans and peas, so I try to get as many field peas as I can put away in the freezer for him to enjoy during the winter months.

Shelling Crowder Peas

Shelling Crowder Peas

Here are a  pictures of my work. One is during the process of shelling peas, and the another is the shelled peas before blanching and bagging to freeze. The last is the peas ready for the freezer.

All of the Shelled Peas

All of the Shelled Peas

Do you preserve farm-fresh produce for the winter?

4 Quarts of Peas Ready for the Freezer

4 Quarts of Peas Ready for the Freezer

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

