“Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained”

Hello World!

How many times have you heard, or even said, this quote: “Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained”?  I know that I’ve spouted these words many times.  Today, these words apply to me.  While I probably have a snowball’s chance in Hell of getting a positive response, I’ve taken the risk and put myself out there with hope of a trip to a writers’ retreat. I cannot be selected if I don’t apply in the same way I cannot win the lottery if I don’t buy a ticket.

Hedgebrook is a nonprofit organization serving women writers.”  One of the ways in which this organization serves women writers is by offering each year 30 – 40 women writers, published and unpublished alike, the opportunity to retreat and spend time alone writing and/or engaging in discussions and collaboration with other female writers free of charge.  The retreat is located on Whidbey Island near Seattle, Washington.  Selected applicants are awarded stays of two to six weeks between the months of February and October each year.

I have submitted an application for the 2014 residency program.  Now that it is submitted, I have done all that I can do, so after I make this post, my intent is to put it out of my mind until I hear whether or not I am one of the lucky few. If I am, I’ll be happy but amazed.  If not, I can re-apply at another time.  Regardless of the outcome, I have already done well because I have stepped out of my comfort zone and have “gone” for something I want.

Learning to put myself out there and take risks is one aspect of living that I want to implement into my life more.

Do you ever take risks?

Have a happy and blessed day!

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Career

Leave a Reply

