My Experience with Dr. Oz’s 48-Hour Weekend Cleanse

Hello World!

It has probably been a dozen years since I’ve gone through a cleanse or detoxification, but I felt like my body needed one. I decided to give the 48-hour Weekend Cleanse found on Dr. Oz’s web site a try.  Yesterday, armed with the list from the web site, I went to the grocery store and bought the supplies needed.  The fruits and veggies purchased were not that expensive; it was the flax oil and spices that ran the tab up a bit.  Of course, these are things that can be used for months to come.

Quinoa Breakfast Photo: livingandlovinglifeafter50

Quinoa Breakfast Photo: livingandlovinglifeafter50

Breakfast is cooked quinoa with prunes, ginger, nutmeg, rice milk, and flax oil. Initially, I forgot to stir in the flax oil, but because I did, I got to find out how it tastes with and with out the oil. The mixture actually tastes better with it.  While not something that really appeals to my palate, it is something I can and did eat.  Perhaps after time I would acquire a taste for this breakfast menu option.  Lucky for me, I only need to eat it one more day on this cleanse program.

There are two different fruit-drink snack options and a list of veggies that can be eaten with olive oil as between meal snacks also.  One can have as much of these snacks as desired.

Pineapple, Lemon & Pomegranate Blend-Free Detox Drink - Photo: livingandlovinglifeafter50

Pineapple, Lemon & Pomegranate Blend-Free Detox Drink – Photo: livingandlovinglifeafter50

This is a picture of the Pineapple, Lemon and Pomegranate Blend-Free Detox Drink; it is yummy. The other snack drink, which requires a juicer and I’ll make this afternoon, is a Kale, Pineapple and Ginger Detox Drink. For lunch, there is a fruit smoothie that looks pretty easy to make.  Dinner is a Vegetable Broth Soup. Ingredients include things like red onion, cabbage, fennel, celery, shitake mushrooms, and lots of spices.  It sounds like it will be pretty good because I like most vegetables. It is to be served with sauerkraut and sliced apples.

No food is to be eaten after 7:00 p.m., and a part of the program is to take an Epsom Salt bath at night. Adding essential oils like lavender will add relaxation to the bath. Sipping Dandelion Tea is also supposed to benefit the cleanse as it aids the liver.  Of course, drinking lots of water is necessary, too.

I’ll let you know how it goes after I finish the 48 hours.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

UPDATE:  The first day went pretty well, but I’ll fell off the cleanse wagon the second day.

Toward the end of the first day, I discovered we had a leak issue with the A/C and wet carpet.  The maintenance guys checked it out, and put a “patch” on the problem.  Early the morning of the second day, the gentlemen came back. W

As a result, water was off for quite some time as the water heater had to be drained and moved to get to the problem related to the A/C.  I pretty much gave up because working in the kitchen was harder than I wanted it to be.

I did learn that I bought more food items than needed.  Had I made it as planned the full 48 hours, the juice snacks would have been enough.  I bought radishes, green beans, etc. that I didn’t really need.  I cooked the green beans for supper last night; I don’t know what I’m going to do with the radishes.

Maybe I’ll do better next time. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Health

One response to “My Experience with Dr. Oz’s 48-Hour Weekend Cleanse

  1. For latest news you have to pay a quick visit the webb and
    on world-wide-web I found this website as a finest website for latest updates.

Leave a Reply

