“Some Days Are Like That, Even in Australia”

Hello World!

It is not even noon on this rainy Monday morning here in Middle Tennessee, and already I have been frustrated because it seems to be one of “those” days.  You know, one of those days when nothing seems to go the way you think it will go and several things come up that you don’t expect.  Nothing is smooth, and the frustration mounts.

After spending way too many hours sitting in my recliner and watching television with the HH (whom I enjoy having home between contracts, but who is also a bad influence on me because of his TV/movie addiction).  My mind and body needed to be up and active this morning, so I got out and about before 9:00, expecting to have all of my errands run and back home by 10:00 a.m., ready to begin another project.  Needless to say, smooth was not the way it went, and since my husband allowed me the two or three minutes needed to vent once home, I’ll not re-hash the events blow-by-blow.

When I have days like this one has been so far, my mind goes back to a book I used to read my children.  It is Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day (1972), written by Judith Viorst and illustrated by Ray Cruz.  If you are not familiar with this wonderful children’s story, I highly recommend it to you.  There is a reoccurring line in the book: “Some days are like that, even in Australia.”  If you know the book, then you know what I mean.  If not, then you may read the book, and I’ll not spoil it for you.

Sometimes life just happens, and life happens to all of us no matter or age, gender, race, nationality, ethnic group, etc.  Life, many say, is not fair as it seems to “happen” to some more than others.  I’ll not comment on that, but I will say that “life does happen,” and it is how we will deal with it that makes the difference. This fact is extremely important for me to remember.  As a high-strung type A personality who is a planner by nature who expects/hopes all will go according to my plans, it is in my own best interest if I can remember this story and then just go with flow, remembering that someone else is having one of “those” days, even in Australia.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Stories, Rants, Etc., Random

Leave a Reply

