Bodacious Banana Bread – My Twist on an Old Recipe

Hello World!

ratty cookbook

Old Newspaper Cookbook

Nothing inspires me to cook more than cooler weather, so as we get a bit deeper into fall, my inspiration abounds.  I went to an old, ratty, well-worn cookbook I have that was published by a newspaper in Bedford County, Tennessee, and included in one of the daily newspapers back during the late 1970s or very early 1980s.   Here I found a Banana Bread recipe that I had not used in years.  Needless to say, this recipe is not low-fat or low-sugar or anything low-calorie, but it is really yummy.  I modified it slightly to suit our tastes, so here is the recipe I used.

  • 3 ripe, mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup melter butter (melted the butter in the loaf pan I’d use to bake the bread)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour (modification here was that I used self-rising flour instead of all-purpose flour)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla flavoring (the real stuff is best)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (my addition)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt the butter in the loaf pan in which you plan to bake the bread. Peel and mash bananas in a medium-size mixing bowl.  Add sugar, eggs, cinnamon, and vanilla flavor and mix well using a spoon.  Pour melted butter into the bowl, and then slowly add and mix in the flour.  Finally, add the chopped pecans and stir well.

Pour batter into loaf pan and bake until lightly brown and a toothpick will go in and come back out of the center of the loaf cleanly, about 40 – 50 minutes, depending on your oven.

How did it turn out?  My husband thought it was totally awesome.  We ate the whole first loaf for breakfast. 🙂  breadHere is a picture of the second loaf.

Whether you use this recipe to bake bread or choose to cook something else during these cool fall days, enjoy!

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Random

Leave a Reply

