How to Get Free or Greatly Discounted Prescription Drugs

Hello World!

As my husband and I get older, unfortunately, we are taking more and more medications.  Even with good insurance, this becomes very expensive; however, there are ways to save.

By accident, I learned of the free prescription program provided by Publix stores.  At the time, I was taking Metformin, and I was in the process of transferring my prescriptions from a more distant pharmacy to the new one which opened 3/4 of mile from our home at the time.  When I went to pick up my Metformin, I was told that I did not owe anything.  It was at this time that I learned of Publix’s free medicine program.  Generic medicines for Lisinopril, Metformin, Amoxicillin, Ampicillin, Cephalexin, Sulfamethoxazole/Trimethoprim (SMZ-TMP), Ciprofloxacin, and Penicillin VK are available free with a prescription allowing for the generic. Click HERE to go to the web site to learn more.

If you are taking one of many name-brand medications not yet available in a generic form, then you should check out the manufacturer’s website.  Before Diovan had a generic form, I was able to obtain a manufacturer’s coupon that filled the gap even after insurance was applied.  A 30-day supply of Diovan after insurance was costing me $50.  Once the manufacturer’s coupon was applied, the cost to me was reduced to $15 for a 30-day supply.

Currently, both my husband and I are on some form of JANUMET.  After insurance, a 30-day supply is $30; a 90-day supply is $90.  By going to the manufacturer’s website (HERE), I was able to print a coupon that has reduced our cost after insurance to only $5 per re-fill; $5 is the minimum you can pay for this program.

Receipt for 90-Day supply of Janumet after insurance &Manufacturer's coupon

Receipt for 90-Day supply of Janumet after insurance & manufacturer’s coupon

Today, I got a 90-day supply for my husband for $5.  This coupon is also good for JANUMET XR and  JANUVIA. (WARNING:  You must have a separate coupon for each individual as there is an identification number at the top that is assigned to that customer only.)  If your doctor is prescribing JANUMET XR, JANUMET, or JANUVIA for the first time, the doctor (or you) can print a form HERE on which to write the prescription, and the patient can get his or her first month’s prescription free. Once again, a separate form is needed for each patient.

Compare prices at pharmacies with insurance “applied” to the cost of buying the item yourself.  For example, since our insurance company no longer has a contract with FreeStyle, I have found that I can order testing strips for me (HH uses a different brand) cheaper through Amazon than purchasing them from our pharmacy.

Finally, pay attention to the way doctor’s word your prescriptions.  We learned that a simple change in wording influenced the amount our insurance company would pay for testing strips.  Worded one way, 100 strips cost us almost $96 with insurance – just a few dollars less than over the counter.  Worded a different way, the strips were $15 with insurance.  If necessary, call your insurance company to see what is required for coverage.

Hopefully these tips will help you to be happy and healthy (physically and financially).

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Being Thrifty, Money

Leave a Reply

