Cliché That Is So True

Hello World!

The cliché about which I am writing is “time travels fast.”  Of late, I’ve heard our daughter Amanda express this sentiment several times as the date is fast approaching for her first child’s first birthday.  My great-grandmother, known to me as Granny, would often say “time goes by faster as one gets older.” As a child, this statement made little sense to me.  There are 24 hours in a day, seven days in a week, and 52 weeks in a year.  How can time go faster for older people than for younger people?

Now, in an older age group, it makes more sense to me than I care to admit.  Time is rushing by at what feels like something close to warp speed.  Several times of late I have contemplated all of the things I want to do that I have not yet done, and time feels like a weight upon my shoulders.

Just as I typed this last sentence, another cliché popped into my mind.  “Youth is wasted on the young.”  This statement is often credited to George Bernard Shaw, but it is also attributed to several other authors.  Heck, I’m sure that many people over 40 have made the same or similar statements without ever having heard of Shaw, Twain, Wilde, or others.  It just seems to be an understanding one gains after the years with life experiences have given wisdom while also taking away the vitality of youth with the “spending” of those years.

I know it is still about six or seven weeks before we face our next “new year,” but already I find myself assessing the past and looking at prospects for the future. Unfortunately, I think I spend too much time assessing and not enough time doing and living. Perhaps in this last statement lies my resolution for the upcoming year.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Stories, Rants, Etc., Random

Leave a Reply

