Cold Sunday Culinary Experiment – Coffee Chocolate Chip Yellow Cake with Chocolate Frosting

It is a cold day here in Middle Tennessee, and as my hubby and I were watching TV, I began craving cake.  I can’t remember the last time I made a cake, but that is all I could think about.  It was too cold to go running to the grocery store, so I plundered through the cabinets as I took stock of my available ingredients. I found a box of yellow cake mix and a tub of chocolate frosting.  Then I realized that I’d used the last of the eggs making breakfast.  Somehow I got my sweet hubby to run to the nearest convenience market to get a dozen eggs. While he was out, I considered my options.  I had a bag of chocolate chips, but I’d only need half of those for the caramel pies I’ll be making for Thanksgiving dinner to be held at the HH’s mom’s house. I’d throw the other half of the bag into the cake mix.

My husband returned with the eggs, the oven was heated, and I began mixing the cake.  As I was doing so, the coffee in the pot in front of me inspired me.  When I put the rest of the dozen eggs into frig, I saw the sour cream, and I pulled it out.  In place of the cup of water, I put 1/2 cup of coffee and 1/2 cup of sour cream in with the mix, eggs, and oil.  After this group of ingredients were well mixed, I stirred in the half of a bag of chocolate chips.  Spraying the 9 x 13 glass baking dish with Pam, I poured the batter into the dish and baked the cake for about 30 minutes.  After it cooled, I frosted the cake with the tub of chocolate frosting.

unnamed

Coffee Chocolate Chip Yellow Cake with Chocolate Frosting

This was awesomely yummy, and I am writing down how I made it, so I can remember because this is a recipe that will be repeated.

Give this recipe a try or share your own successful cooking experiments.

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Random

Leave a Reply

