A Movie That Speaks To Me – Uplifting and Inspiring

I was not prepared for the impact today’s movie choice would have on me, but it was a pleasant surprise. The afternoon started as it usually does when my husband and I go to the cinema. Spending as little money as possible to enjoy viewing movies with the full theater experience is a goal of ours.  This means that we hit early matinées as often as possible.  Today, we had coupons for a free ticket, a free soda, and $2 off any size popcorn. Pleased about all of this, there was also the current Ibotta offers, giving us four movies from which to choose that would earn us money back.  My choice of movie was The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.  I’m so glad that was the one we saw today.

The trailers for The Secret Life of Walter Mitty had intrigued me, but I was not quite ready for the emotional connection that I made with the main character and his journey.  I’m not going to share too many details because I do not want to spoil it for anyone, but I’ll speak in general terms.  Walter is a dreamer (that much is shown in the trailers), and he has spent most of his life working hard and doing the right thing. Inwardly, he dreams of a different life for himself. In part because of his commitment to doing what is right, a life crisis sends him on a journey that brings about personal growth that allows Walter to bloom while blessing others along the way.

This movie not only confirms for me some of my (our) life choices, but it also inspires me to reach for more in life. Today, not only did we get our money’s worth in entertainment at the movie theater, but I also found a great deal of joy and  inspiration while reveling in spectacular scenery during the couple of hours spent watching The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. I left with a big smile on my face and the desire “to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life,” to quote Henry David Thoreau.

This is a family friendly movie, so I encourage individuals and families to watch it.  Hopefully, you will also leave feeling uplifted and inspired.

2 Comments

Filed under Being Thrifty, Personal Stories, Rants, Etc., Random

2 responses to “A Movie That Speaks To Me – Uplifting and Inspiring

  1. Thank you for linking through to my blog on Walter Mitty! Glad you enjoyed it. Such a spectacular movie to end the year on. Simply beautiful.

Leave a Reply

