Hot Chocolate – Starbucks or Dunkin’ Donuts?

On these cold, winter days, as I drive to the home of a student whom I tutor, I’ve given in to the guilty pleasure of a cup of hot chocolate.  I’ve discovered that not all hot chocolates are created equally.  There are two Starbucks and two Dunkin’ Donuts stores between my home and my student’s home, and I have given both equal consideration.

My first purchase of hot cocoa was at Starbucks.  After the first sip I was disappointed because it was not hot; it was just a bit more than lukewarm, which left a “bad” taste in mouth after paying $3.00 for their smallest size. About a week later, I was freezing after being out and about before heading to my student’s house.  Being closer to Dunkin’ Donuts, I whipped through to get hot chocolate. YUM!  Not only was it hot, it had a nice rich taste.  After stopping by Dunkin’ Donuts a few times, I decided to give Starbucks another try.  After all, I had a gift card to use. Once again, Starbucks hot chocolate left me wishing I had kept driving until I got to Dunkin’ Donuts.  Although the hot cocoa was hot, it had a bitter taste, and I ended up throwing 1/2 of my $3.00 small cup away.

Starbucks

Starbucks

Dunkin' Donuts

Dunkin’ Donuts

Let’s do a side-by-side comparison of each company’s small hot chocolate.

 

 

 

 

Starbucks                                                    Dunkin’ Donuts

Taste               Cost*          Calories**          Taste                     Cost*           Calories**

Bitter             $3.00              180                  Rich, creamy        $1.64               220

*Local price with tax at time of writing; **Based on Lose It! app for calories in restaurant foods

In my book, the better taste for almost half the price, Dunkin’ Donuts hot chocolate is worth the few extra calories.

What are your thoughts?

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

