Bound’ry – A Restaurant with No Limits on Good Tastes

It’s Restaurant Week in Nashville, Tennessee. Twice a year, fine restaurants in the Metro Davidson County area offer amazing meals at special prices.  This bi-annual event encourages folks to find new restaurants or enjoy old favorites.  For my husband and me, this was an opportunity for us to try a new restaurant.

As I perused the list of participating eateries a couple of weeks ago, Bound’ry caught my eye because of its emphasis on utilizing fresh, local produce. I made a reservation for this evening, and both my husband and I are so glad that I did.  Let me share with you why.

Beautiful Mural

Beautiful mural

View from our table

View from our table

The first reason is atmosphere; Bound’ry emanates it. An old hotel repurposed into a fashionable restaurant, it is located on 20th Avenue South. Entering the establishment, I was delighted with the tasteful design that mixes old and new.  Seated beside a window near the open fire, our table was perfect.

Service is the next reason. Entering the restaurant, we received a friendly greeting and were seated quickly. Our server was the epitome of a professional who possessed the ability to make one feel relaxed and at ease. Throughout our entire meal, and even after, I truly felt like we were VIPs; our service was that good.  As I reflect, unlike when dining in many other higher-end restaurants, I felt totally comfortable and at home; it was a pleasant experience.

The Special Menu

The Special Menu

Finally, the best reason is the food! Oh, my! It was not only a feast for our tummies; it was a feast for our eyes and our taste buds. Ordering from the special menu prepared for restaurant week, my husband and I stepped out of comfort zones and tried some new dishes.  We were not disappointed.

Soup and cheese sandwich

Soup and cheese sandwich

Crab cakes

Crab cakes

I chose the tomato soup with cheese sandwich as my first course while my husband chose the crab cakes. The soup tasted like the chef had picked the tomatoes from the garden this afternoon and then made the soup. The bread wove a medley of complimentary flavors. Between the soup and the bread, my palette experienced an explosion of wonderful tastes. Jim, who has eaten in restaurants all over the U. S. and in many parts of the world, declared that the crab cakes were the best he had ever had.

My husband and I both went with the antelope for the main entre; it was served with tasty potatoes and a colorful mix of vegetables that included corn, onions, and peppers. Never in my life did I expect to eat antelope, but I did tonight, and it was good. For those of you who know my husband, he is not fond of vegetables, but he ate every bite of this it was so tasty.

Antelope

Antelope

Dessert did indeed top off the meal. Chocolateaholic that I am, how could I not order S’More; this dessert was so much more than the campfire S’mores.  It was a chocolate lover’s dream complimented by the sweetness of fruit.  Jim’s dessert, Yuzu Olive Oil Cake, was a delicious mix of sweet and sour and creamy and firm. Tastes and textures mixed in a pleasing medley.

S'More

S’More

Yuzu Oil Cake

Yuzu Olive Oil Cake

Bound’ry is a hugely tasteful experience from beginning to end thanks to the atmosphere, service, and quality of food. We highly recommend it to you.

Bon Appétit

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

