Life with a 50+-Year-Old “Kid” (Vol 4)

This past weekend, the HH was under the weather; he had what we sometimes call “the bathroom blues.” As a result, he did not feel like doing much or going anywhere.  He cancelled out of our couples night dinner and performance; I had to go alone since the tickets had already been purchased. Not being able to sleep well a couple of nights, he also got his nights and days turned around.

When he got up from his five-hour nap just before 8:00 p.m. yesterday, he was in his normal form, so I knew he was feeling better.  The ultimate tip to confirm my hubby was over the worst of the GI issues was when he tried to talk me into walking down the street at 10 p.m. last night to get the mail.  You see, he LOVES getting mail, and he LOVES being the one to pick up the mail and open it all – even the “junk” mail.  He felt too badly all weekend long to go pick up the mail, and now he was ready to open and read the mail.  The thing is, he didn’t want to get out and walk to the mailbox, so he was doing his best to convince me to do it for him.  I got the puppy dog eyes; I got the lower lip sticking out; I got the guilt trip. He tried everything in his play book to try to get me to go get the mail.

He failed.  There are some points on which I will not give, and asking me to go out late at night, even with the dog, into the cold when I was already warm, cozy, and almost ready for bed was not something I was going to do.

He went to bed at 4:09 a.m. this morning – remember I told you he has gotten his days and night confused.  When I got up this morning, the opened mail was sitting on the arm of my recliner.  Good call, Angela.  If the hubby was well enough to make a big issue of wanting the mail, he was well enough to walk and get it himself.

I teased him with the idea that he was sick like this to drop some weight quickly. Of course, he had no control over being ill, and no one would really choose this form of losing weight.  When he weighed this morning, he’d lost about 3 1/2 pounds since Saturday morning. He has an appointment with the weight loss folks today, and he is going to end up being the poster child for doing a good job.  I bet you money he does not confess to being sick all weekend. Instead he will bask in the praise. 🙂

I’m so glad his better. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Relationships

Leave a Reply

