Maui, Hawaii – My Unexpected but Much Enjoyed Adventure

As noted in the update to Weight-Loss Journey, the HH was sent to Maui, Hawaii, to work for a month, and I got to go with him. Had I not had other appointments and responsibilities here, I probably would have stayed 3 of the 4 weeks with him.  Still, the time there was an unexpected adventure – a reprieve from the harsh winter weather experienced on the North American continent this year and an affordable vacation for me.

I had to pay my own air fare, but thanks to frequent flyer miles banked by the HH’s travels, my roundtrip cost was the $10 in security taxes.  You can’t beat that.  Amazingly, not only were none of my American Airline flights cancelled or delayed; they all arrived 15 to 30 minutes early on each leg of the trip! I had to pay for my own rental car and the excursions I/we took, but that was about the only expense beyond food, which I would have had at home.

Immediately upon deboarding the plane, the warmth and humidity greeted me; it was much welcomed relief from the winter cold. Maui is beautiful; the site from the kitchen window of the house in which my husband is staying was breathtaking every morning I was there.  Though the first half of my stay was spent in an attempt to help my husband, but by Friday, I was ready to play.

The first adventure was to go to Ma’alea Bay where I embarked upon a whale watching expedition with the Pacific Whale Foundation.  My little camera was not suitable for getting the good shots of the whales – mothers, babies, and males looking for females to mate – we saw, so I purchased the pictures made on that outing by the Foundation’s photographer.  Here are a couple of those.

IMG_3367

Momma & Baby Humpback Whale- Photo Credit Pacific Whale Foundation

Momma & Baby Humpback Whale
Photo Credit Pacific Whale Foundation

 

Saturday and Sunday, I made the HH leave his computer and get out and enjoy the beautiful weather and lovely island.  Saturday, we drove the road to Hana, which is explained by the picture of the back of the t-shirt I bought.

This shirt explains the Road to Hana

This shirt explains the Road to Hana

After lunch in Hana, he and I drove the circle that brought us back to Kahului, where he is staying and working. We had hoped to have time to visit the volcano park, but we were too tired, and rain had developed over that part of the island.

 

Sunday, we drove the cliff road around the northwest side of the island, and it was more than expected.  You can read a bit about this in this post. After that death-defying drive, we enjoyed going underwater in the Atlantis submarine (pictured as it surfaces right before the hubby and I boarded) followed by a luau.  It was a great weekend!

Atlantis Submarine at Lahaina, Maui, HI

Atlantis Submarine at
Lahaina, Maui, HI

 

 

I wrapped up my time in Hawaii with a day-long trip to the Big Island, Hawaii, to visit Volcano Park.  While I did not get to spend as much time in the park as I would have liked, it was very interesting. If I had done my research before going, I would have learned that the volcano that has been spewing hot lava into the ocean for over 30 years quit doing so about six months ago.  Now, it is filling in upon itself and expanding it size under ground (if I understood correctly), which means I did not get to see hot lava as hoped.  All I could see was the steam rising from the crater, and that picture is below.

Kilauea, Hawai'i Volcano Park, Hawaii

Kilauea, Hawai’i Volcano Park, Hawaii

All and all, it was a great surprise to get to go to Maui, and I only wish I could have cleared my schedule to be able to stay longer.  Hopefully, the HH and I will get to Hawaii again and can spend more time on other islands.

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Maui, Hawaii – My Unexpected but Much Enjoyed Adventure

  1. Pingback: Buying American: Supporting the U. S. in Tourism | livingandlovinglifeafter50

Leave a Reply

