Go Organic; Go Non-GMO; Go Local

Spring has finally sprung! Yes, Mother Nature will still throw some cold days at us, but one can “feel” the difference. As I was awaken by the lovely songs of birds this morning and as I look through our open patio door at the green in the wooded area behind where we live, I know Spring is here.  One of the things to which my mind turns at this time of year is knowing that fresh food is near.

Since our current residence does not get enough full sun to be productive in growing much on our patio, I will gladly support our local farmers rather than the big grocery stores and factory farms. I’ve spent the last few days researching organic farmers in the Nashville area that offer CSAs, and I’m happy to say I had several from which to choose.  I’ve purchased half shares (1/2 bushel every other week) from two different organic farms.  Eaton’s Creek Organics is north of Nashville proper and Green Door Gourmet is west.  Another farm from which I considered purchasing a CSA, Devlin Farms, visits one of the two Farmers’ Markets within 5 – 10 minutes of where we live, so I’ll purchase from them as needed.  All three are organic farms, so my worries over GMOs are almost non-existent.  I say almost because there is always the chance of cross-crop pollination.

As a bonus, Eaton’s Creek also has bees, so I can get local honey.  Both sell organic flowers. Green Door Gourmet has a farm store that carries products from other local farmers. I wish Pinewood Farm was closer to us as I’d like to support it also, but it is located in Hickman County, so not as local for us.

Beef, pork, and poultry will be purchased from a local farmer from whom I have bought for several years.  While the kids were still at home, we had a monthly CSA with Tennessee GrassFed.  In fact, I am proud to say that I was one of his first CSA customers.  When the kids were all gone and with the HH working away from home so much, I could no longer justify the amount of meat we were stockpiling, so I’ve gone to purchasing as needed or when Mr. Baggett has a seasonal package special. Next week, I’ll pick up some free-range chickens from him.

In addition to all of this, I will make visits to several local Farmers’ Markets in the area, including one of the best in the country, Clarksville Downtown Farmers Market. I’m proud to say that I have been a customer at this market since its beginning, and even though we no longer live in Clarksville, it is worth the drive to go there while open on Saturdays 8 a.m to 1 p.m.

From May to October or early November, the big grocery stores do not see too much of me, and commercial farmers get as little of my money as possible all year round.  Get to know your local farmers and craftsmen; they will become your friends.  Buy local; eat healthier; enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Health

One response to “Go Organic; Go Non-GMO; Go Local

  1. Pingback: Buying American: Supporting the U. S. in Tourism | livingandlovinglifeafter50

Leave a Reply

