Cooking Using CSA Foods: Using Kale in Corn, Kale, and Green Onion Fritters

This weekend, I picked up our first CSA box of organically grown fruits, vegetables, and herbs for the season.  What was in my box? Here is the list.

  • Two quarts strawberries
  • A bunch of mint
  • A large bunch of purple kale
  • A large bunch of green kale
  • A large bunch of collards
  • A medium head of green cabbage
  • A bag of various loose leaf lettuce
  • Two stalks with multiple heads of broccoli

First, we used some of the lettuce for salad Saturday night, and I used more of it for a salad at lunch today.  There is more lettuce yet to use.

I washed, topped, and sliced the first quart of strawberries last night, and we have eaten those with cereal in the morning and with ice cream for dessert after meals. Tonight, I used some of the purple kale with organic frozen corn and fresh organic green onions to make the following recipe.

Corn, Kale, and Green Onion Fritters by Angela Johnson

Corn, Kale, and Green Onion Fritters by Angela Johnson

I was surfing the Internet looking for new recipes to use items in the CSA box, and I came across a recipe by Just the Tip. I didn’t have any leeks; I even to the store, and they were sold out.  I wasn’t going to make the recipe, but as I read over it,  I saw things that I would modify and do differently. Then it came to me that a leek is in the onion family. I got some green onions and modified the recipe to suit myself, coming up with my own version of a fritter recipe.  Here is what I used and how I made the fritters pictured.  I thought they were pretty good.

Corn, Kale, and Green Onion Fritters

Ingredients (use all organic if at all possible):

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2 cups fresh (or thawed frozen) corn
  • 2 cups finely chopped, firmly packed kale
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons sunflower or olive oil, plus more for frying the fritters, unless you choose to use butter (be careful, butter burns quickly)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2/3 – 1 cup finely chopped green onions
  • Sea salt and black pepper to taste
  • Lemon for garnish (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Sauté green onions in oil, and add kale to pan to wilt during the last minute or two. Let cool slightly.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, cornmeal, salt, milk, eggs (beaten), salt, and pepper.
  3. Add the green onions, kale, and oil from skillet in which they were cooked, and stir to combine.
  4. Finally, add corn to batter and stir.
  5. Heat oil in a large frying pan. Drop about 1/4 cup batter per fritter into the hot skillet, adding more oil, or butter, as needed to keep fritters from sticking.
  6. Cook until fritters begin to bubble and are browned on the bottom, about 3 minutes, then flip and cook until the other side is golden, 1 or 2 minutes longer.
  7. Drain on paper towel on plate as each is removed from the skillet.
  8. Keep cooking in batches.

Serve warm with a little squeeze of lemon if desired.

If you have any fantastic recipes that uses the items listed in this week’s CSA box, please feel free to share ASAP.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Cooking Using CSA Foods: Using Kale in Corn, Kale, and Green Onion Fritters

  1. Pingback: Frittatas Using Fresh, Organic Produce | livingandlovinglifeafter50

Leave a Reply

