Recipe Finds for Enjoying CSA Fresh Produce

I spent yesterday and today cooking to take advantage of all the wonderful fresh produce obtained from the two 1/2-share CSAs we have bought from Green Door Gourmet and Eaton’s Creek Organics. Prior to cooking, I searched the Internet for recipes that seemed to be tasty and were not too complicated to make and that had good reviews.

Here are links to some of the recipes I used, comments, and a few pictures.

Mint Syrup: Simple and tasty, I can’t wait to try the mint syrups I’ve made in recipes other than tea. If you like, this can be used in making Mint Juleps.

Chocolate Mint Syrup Photo by Angela Johnson

Chocolate Mint Syrup
Photo by Angela Johnson

Cheesy Spinach and Bacon Puff Pastry Quiche: This spinach quiche is awesome! I ended up eating 1/4 of it as brunch this morning.

20140603_104228

Cheesy Spinach and Bacon Puff Pasty Quiche (after 3 pieces were eaten) Photo by Angela Johnson

Kale Pesto: This was my first attempt at making homemade pesto, and even I was able to do it.  I’ve not used the pesto yet, but the plans are to mix it with pasta for lunch or dinner one day this week.

Kale Pesto Photo by Angela Johnson

Kale Pesto
Photo by Angela Johnson

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower: In the oven now is Roasted Garlic Cauliflower; it smells yummy. I did add some cumin and cayenne pepper as additional seasoning.

Roasted Beets and Sautéed Beet Greens:  This was my least favorite of the recipes tried, but I don’t think it was fault with the recipe. First, I’m not really a beet eater, and I waited several days after picking up the beets to cook them; I was hesitant to give them a try.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

Roasted Beets and Sautéed Beet Greens

Give these a try and let me know how you like them, or send me your tried and true recipes for me to use.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

