Backed Up and Let Down

Hello World!

In my attempt to get more physical activity, my body has been one of my biggest obstacles.  To be more specific, my back has been an obstacle.  I’m backed up  and let down because of back pain.

Two weeks ago today, I was pumped to go to my first strength and conditioning class at FiftyForward.  I was so proud of myself for getting up and there for an 8:00 a.m. class and making it the whole time without having to quit.  The focus of the day was lower body, so we did a ton of squats in a variety of exercises in 45 minutes.  I was extremely sore, as to be expected, but the soreness in my lower back  to the left of my spine continued to hang around.

A week ago today, I had a massage, and instead of the massage making my back feel better; I think I have felt slightly worse, which is unusual. The muscles on my left side of my torso, front and back, have been contrary and almost always tight since muscle and skin was taken from my left side to create a muscle flap after my bilateral mastectomy.  It is going to be a rest-of-my-life challenge to keep those muscle loose and working well; at the moment they are not.

I can feel the discomfort even laying flat on my back in bed or sitting up my my recliner.  I really do not want to go to the doctor again, especially when I more or less know what it is.  According to the University of Maryland’s web site’s article Low back pain, “about 60 – 80% of the adult U.S. population has low back pain, and it is the second most common reason people go to the doctor.”   It makes sense that the article goes on to say that “low back problems affect the spine’s flexibility, stability, and strength, which can cause pain, discomfort, and stiffness.”

Being this common of a problem, there are tons of articles and YouTube videos offering instruction on how to self-treat the condition, so I’m thinking this is what I need to do.  If it gets worse, I can always go to the doctor then.  If it does not get worse and does not get better either, then I have an appointment scheduled in a couple of months; I’ll ask about it then.

What is frustrating to me is that it seems as if every time I have made a true effort to get out and get active in the last two and a half years, my own body has been the reason I have had to stop and try something else.  I’m not giving up, but I am disheartened.

Do you struggle with lower back pain (I’m guessing mine is a herniated disc) and have been able to successfully use exercise to reduce your pain and allow you to be as active as you would like?  If so, I’d like to hear more about what you have done.

Have a blessed and happy day!

Angela

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a comment